Water and wastewater services for Kent, Sussex, Hampshire and the Isle of Wight
About us
You are here: About us » Our governance

Our Board of Directors

The day-to-day running of our company is led by an Executive Management Team, which reports to our Board of Directors.

Southern Water Chairman, Robert JenningsRobert Jennings


Appointed Chairman in April 2014, Robert joined the board as an Independent Non-executive Director in July 2012.

Robert is also the Department for Transport’s representative on the Board of Crossrail.

He joined SG Warburg & Co in 1986 and remained with the organisation until February 2009 where for many years he had been head/joint head of the bank’s infrastructure group. During this period, he was also seconded to HM Treasury on two occasions.

Robert graduated from Bristol University in 1976 after reading Economics & Accounting.

Articled to Coopers and Lybrand, he became a Chartered Accountant in 1979 and, in 2005, was made a CBE in recognition of his services to the transport sector and finance industry.


Southern Water Chief Executive Officer, Matthew WrightMatthew Wright

Chief Executive Officer

Appointed in February 2011, Matthew Wright joined us from United Utilities where he was Managing Director, Asset Management and Delivery.

Prior to that, he was Managing Director, Operations, and his role included management of the operations, maintenance and customer service activities of United Utilities’ regulated water and wastewater business as well as oversight of the company’s external contracts with Dwr Cymru Welsh Water, Scottish PFI projects and other industrial customers.

Matthew has more than 25 years' experience of utility management in both UK and international markets.

He joined United Utilities in 2007 from ScottishPower's US operation, where he was Executive Vice-President of PacifiCorp's transmission, distribution and customer service division.

He has also held senior management positions in operations, regulation, corporate strategy and commercial utility functions.


Non-executive Director, Paul SheffieldPaul Sheffield

Independent Non-executive Director

Paul Sheffield joined the Board in June 2014. In addition to this role he is currently Managing Director of the Northern Hub for Laing O'Rourke - the Engineering and Construction Enterprise.

In his career Paul enjoyed over 30 years with Kier Group Plc, the Construction, Property and Services business starting as a graduate Civil Engineer in 1983.  He spent 15 years working on a series of significant infrastructure projects around the world and then led a number of the company’s business units in the UK.

In 2005, he joined the Kier Group Board, with responsibility for the £1.5 billion per annum construction division, and was appointed CEO at the start of 2010, stepping down in June 2014 having overseen a significant restructuring of the business and significant growth.  Following that he took up a new role with Laing O'Rourke to lead the expansion of their activities across the UK, Middle East and Canada.

Paul has a wealth of knowledge about the construction and maintenance of infrastructure assets and the delivery of major programmes of capital works.


Independent Non-executive Director, Bill TameBill Tame

Independent Non-executive Director

Bill Tame joined the Board in January 2015.

He is currently Chief Executive of the Babcock Group’s International Division, having joined the Babcock Board as Group Finance Director in 2002. 

Bill is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and is also a Non-executive Director of Carclo plc.


Independent Non-executive Director, Rosemary BootRosemary Boot

Independent Non-executive Director

Rosemary Boot joined the Board in March 2015.

She is Chief Financial Officer of Future Cities Catapult, one of a network of technology and innovation centres established by the UK Government.

Previously she worked at Circle Housing Group and was involved in setting up the Government owned Low Carbon Contracts Company and Electricity Settlements Company.

From 2001 to 2011 she was Group Finance Director of the Carbon Trust, the independent company set up in 2001 to work with business and the public sector to accelerate the move to a sustainable, low carbon economy. Prior to that, she worked for 16 years as an investment banker, primarily advising large listed UK companies on mergers and acquisitions.

Rosemary is also a Governor of the Conservatoire for Dance and Drama, the higher education institution for the performing arts, and a Trustee of Green Alliance, the environmental think tank.


Independent Non-executive Director, Lisa HarringtonLisa Harrington

Independent Non-executive Director

Appointed in April 2015, Lisa is the Managing Director of Customer Service and CIO of British Telecom’s Wholesale division.

Lisa has a real passion for customers and a strong track record of delivering customer service improvement in a variety of transformation and operational roles. 

Before BT, Lisa spent 12 years with Andersen Consulting (now Accenture), specialising in customer service consulting and delivering big transformation projects for companies such as Microsoft, Compaq, Vodafone and Sainsbury’s.

She also served as a Non-Executive Director for the NHS West London Mental Health Trust.


Non-executive Director, Mark WaltersMark Walters

Non-executive Director

Mark Walters joined the board in March 2014 having previously held positions within the wider Southern Water group over the last five years.

A seasoned investment professional, he is an Executive Director and asset manager with the J.P. Morgan Infrastructure Investments Group, based in London, and is responsible for principle investment activity across Europe.

Mark holds board appointments across a number of J.P. Morgan’s utility investments, including Electricity North West and Zephyr Investments Ltd, and is actively engaged in the strategic oversight and development of these businesses.

Before joining J.P. Morgan, Mark held investment and advisory positions at Macquarie Bank, Deloitte and Arthur Andersen, where he started his career and qualified as a Chartered Accountant with the ICAEW.


Company Secretary, Joanne StattonJoanne Statton

Company Secretary

A qualified solicitor, Joanne has worked for Southern Water since 1997.

She became Company Secretary of both Southern Water and the Greensands companies in 2015, supporting and advising both boards and businesses.

  Close box